2021 Public Holidays in Thailand and Local Festivals

Thailand villa for holiday rental

2021 Bank holidays in Thailand

A list of bank holidays in Thailand follows.

Of these, the most raucous Thai holiday is the Songkran festival (Thai New Year), where water and talc is thrown in abundance on each and every passing person, and vast amounts of alcohol are consumed over consecutive days. Be ready to get wet if you intend to be in Thailand at this time of year. Do not try to stay dry: just smile and enjoy!

In the villages around Gecko Villa, you will often witness local ceremonies and traditional rites that do not feature on any calendar, but can be fascinating to attend or in which to participate. You may witness a novice monk's initiation ceremony, where a young man makes merit and enters the monkhood for a period of time (this generally involves a colourful procession on foot with the novice held aloft and paraded through the village with much dancing); morlam or morlam sing performances - music concerts varying from small affairs on makeshift stages to major performances by larger groups with dancers; merit-making festivals at the local temples; or funerals, weddings etc. A large part is usually played by alcohol in the majority of these occasions, with rice whisky and other indigenous brews flowing freely.

Bank holidays in Thailand 2021

If a public holiday in Thailand falls on a weekend, the following working day is substituted as a holiday. To simplify your travel plans, the list of Thai holidays below shows the actual dates when the holidays are observed. Do note however that the dates below are subject to change by the Thai government.

  1. Friday 1st January - New Year’s Day
  2. Friday 6th February - Makha Bucha Day
  3. Tuesday 6th April - Chakri Memorial Day
  4. Tuesday 13th, 14th and 15th April - Songkran Festival
  5. Monday 3rd May - Substitution for National Labour Day (Saturday 1st May 2021)
  6. Tuesday 4th May - Coronation Day
  7. Wednesday 26th May - Visakha Bucha Day
  8. Thursday 3rd June - ​H.M. Queen Suthida Bajrasudhabimalalakshana’s Birthday
  9. Monday 26th July - Substitution for Asarnha Bucha Day (Saturday 24th July 2021)
  10. Wednesday 28th July - ​H.M. King Maha Vajiralongkorn Phra Vajiraklaochaoyuhua’s Birthday
  11. Thursday 12th August -​ H.M. Queen Sirikit The Queen Mother’s Birthday / Mother’s Day
  12. Wednesday 13th October - ​H.M. King Bhumibol Adulyadej The Great Memorial Day
  13. Monday 25th October - Substitution for Chulalongkorn Day (Saturday 23rd October 2021)
  14. Monday 6th December - Substitution for H.M. King Bhumibol Adulyadej The Great’s Birthday/ National Day / Father’s Day (Sunday 5th December 2021)
  15. Friday 10th December - Constitution Day
  16. Friday 31st December - New Year’s Eve